Submission Deadline: Closed

The ABA Legacy Scholar Award was established in 2008 to honor senior anthropologists for their significant contributions to research, scholarship, and service to communities of African descent in the United States and throughout the African Diaspora. The award embraces the idea of Sankofa, the Akan word meaning looking back to move forward. We use the symbol of the Sankofa bird to represent an appreciation of the past – paying tribute and respect to those who came before us. In this way, ABA recognizes our elders for having created career opportunities for Black anthropologists and others over time as well as a path for others to follow in the discipline. We appreciate and thank them for their example, commitment, and professionalism.

Candidates for the ABA Legacy Scholar Award can either be nominated by colleagues or selected directly by the ABA Legacy Scholar Award Committee. Nominations should include the candidate’s name and a brief 250 word description of their contribution to the field. This year, in celebration of our 50th anniversary, we will honor several elders in a celebratory reception at the AAA meetings in St. Louis

Candidates for the ABA Legacy Scholar Award should have/be:

  • Significant research or applied contribution to the field of anthropology
  • Work related to the people of African descent
  • At least 25 years of professional experience
  • A member of ABA